?

Log in

Mitch does Bob

Yes! Just yes!

Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes!!

(Supper's going to be late tonight.)

Plummage

It wasn't raining this morning, so I went and foraged for a peck (how big is a peck?) of plums. Highly dangerous, due to the sloppy cowpats and rotting windfalls underfoot and the constant rain of little yellow "plums" from above.
The haul:
It"s a big pic!Collapse )

Peppermintiness

I keep on meaning to write this up, so, since it's too rainy for a foraging trip (plums!), I'll get it out the way.

I'd not updated Mint on my tiny Vye for a very long time (the version had fallen off the support list) and various things, mostly to do with updates and fixes, had started to go awry. So, I upgraded. Not to a more recent Mint, but to a more minimal install. Pretty much a compromise between a build it yourself and a fully-euipped install. I looked at several, found some I liked but which were 64-bit installs, and then settled on Peppermint.

Set up the USB, tried it from the USB, made a list of programs I'd installed myself post-Mint installation, backed up the tiny bit of data I needed from my hard disk. Installed Peppermint 6 and wiped Mint out.

I then reinstalled those programs I decided I needed--Vivaldi, LogJam, Scrivener, TeXstudio--and omitted some others (Opera), set up links to Dropbox, Box, GoogleDrive, tweaked my email arrangements and was good to go.

Everything good to go. Faster, cleaner, more like an ancient Windows machine than ever. With my start menu down the right-hand side of the screen just how I like it.

It took a week before I had to cave in and install bit of OfficeLibre to read a docx file.

July 2015

Read:
- Living Ink by Eddie D. Moore (http://www.everydayfiction.com/living-ink-by-eddie-d-moore/)
- Great Girls by Deborah Siegel (http://www.everydayfiction.com/great-girls-by-deborah-siegel/)
- For a Tooth by Tim Major (http://www.everydayfiction.com/for-a-tooth-by-tim-major/)
- Dear Jezzy: How Can a Devil Make an Angel Say Yes? by Sarina Dorie (DSF)
- Potemkin Girl by Isabella David McCaffrey (http://www.everydayfiction.com/potemkin-girl-by-isabella-david-mccaffrey/)
- The Turing Test by Chris Beckett (K)
- Help Wanted by Mark Richardson (http://www.everydayfiction.com/help-wanted-by-mark-richardson/)
- The Brothers Rose by Michael Burrows (http://www.everydayfiction.com/the-brothers-rose-by-michael-burrows/)
- Final Message by Dustin Adams (http://www.everydayfiction.com/final-message-by-dustin-adams/)
- In the Cave of the Delicate Singers by Lucy Taylor (http://www.tor.com/2015/07/15/in-the-cave-of-the-delicate-singers/)
- The Knight by Ty Karnitz (http://www.everydayfiction.com/the-knight-by-ty-karnitz/)
- Take One Twice a Day by Allyson Leskovic (http://www.everydayfiction.com/take-one-twice-a-day-by-allyson-leskovic/)
- A Man Lay Dreaming by Lavie Tidhar (K)
- The Consciousness Problem by Mary Robinette Kowal (http://www.lightspeedmagazine.com/fiction/the-consciousness-problem/)
- Roboteer by Alex Lamb (K)
- Dead Spider Curl by Chip Houser (http://www.everydayfiction.com/dead-spider-curl-by-chip-houser/)
- Noted by Steffany Willey (http://www.everydayfiction.com/noted-by-steffany-willey/)
- In The Detail by Simon Kewin (DSF)

Knit:
- 20 hexipuffs

Yoghurt

Yesterday, homemade coconut yoghurt (plus cow milk live yoghurt as starter) plus blackberries from back garden (2 mins in microwave plus some caster sugar stirred in)--tasty, but runny enough for drinking.

Today, homemade, goat milk yoghurt (plus cow milk live yoghurt as starter) plus blackberries (as above)--goat-y, tasty, and a little less runny.

Tags:

There's no accounting for cats

Mr Socks has spent the last few weeks looking up longingly at my lap, which was almost inevitably occupied by Little. I've made sure he's got his share of my attention, when Little decamped to M or Looby Loo.

Now, of course, he's avoiding me and Mr Oswald--the non-lap cat--has happily curled up on me.

Accounting for a Cat (1)

We adopted Little on June 6th 1996 (I just checked the paperwork). She was a year old, but had been at the Blue Cross for six months (we were told: they were trying very hard to "sell" Big, but especially Little, to us). So she could have been not much more than one up to nearly two and a half. She was at the very least 20 when she died.

A pretty good innings.

Empty

My parents bought this cat basket a very long time ago (at least thirty years):
DSCF0565
It was a step up in the world for the cat (possibly not Moggy, but definitely Kitty) as before that we'd used any old cardboard box for feline transportation (or none at all, until Moggy decided that the best place to travel in the car was under the brake pedal).
It served as Kitty's bed, too, and was where Mieze was born, but not the rest of the kittens. Felix, the last of those kittens, also slept in it.
When my Dad brought Astrophe over from Wales just after we moved in here, she came in this basket. She didn't take to sleeping in it, but it's carried on performing its cat-carrying duties, to and from the vee ee tee ever since. Big generally got to go in it, 'cos our other carrier was smaller.
DSCF0449
Today we settled Little in it for her last two journeys.
Empty:
DSCF0564

Tags:

Bah!

I've done my back in. Just like the previous two occasions, but veering towards the worse of the first time rather than the not so bad of the second.

So, no trip down to Wells with M to drop Looby Loo at Latin Camp. Bah! I like Wells. (I like wells, too, but that's something entirely different.)

Now how to explain to the fading Little cat that there is absolutely no way I can stand her sleeping on me tonight.

Wet, wet, vet

On 16th July 1662 Pepys posted (oops! wrote):

"In the morning I found all my ceilings, spoiled with rain last night, so that I fear they must be all new whited when the work is done."

Well, actually I found the drip and put a bucket under it before I went to bed to endure Thursday's inundation. About four inches from a tiny leak in the roof of the bay window (wot we had fixed a couple of years ago). We can't locate the source of aqueaous ingress from the outside. Still, it's better than M's office ceiling which had been leaked through onto the carpets and thence through to the office ceiling below.

And our vee ee tee is flooded again. The Little cat is under strict instructions not to have an emergency in the next few day

Tags: